Mondes en mouvement

Bienvenue sur Mondes en mouvement, le site de Vanessa Mongey. Diverses ressources sont disponibles pour chercheurs, enseignants et étudiants.

Basée au Royaume-Uni, j’étudie l’histoire des révolutions et de la diaspora africaine. Mes recherches portent notamment sur politique, race et migration dans le monde atlantique.

Mon intérêt pour les mondes et les gens en mouvement m’a amené à rédiger mon premier livre, Rogue Revolutionaries: The Fight for Legitimacy in the Greater Caribbean, qui retrace les vies tumultueuses d’individus qui ont tenté d’exporter la révolution et de créer leurs propres États dans la région Caraïbe.

J’ai créé un compagnon numérique du livre avec descriptifs des personnages, sources originales, cartes et un guide pour la recherche en archives ici.

Banner for the book Rogue Revolutionaries by Vanessa Mongey

Cliquez sur Recherches pour en savoir plus sur mes travaux autour de l’histoire des révolutions atlantiques, la diaspora haïtienne, et les réfugiés dans la colonie britannique de Belize. Ces travaux sont apparus dans plusieurs revues, dont Atlantic Studies et Law and History Review.

Mes projets numérques incluent Haitian Odysseys, une StoryMap dynamique sur les voyages d’une famille haïtienne au 19e siècle, et Paths Across Waters, une collection d’essais et d’images mettant en évidence les contributions des Antillais et des Africains à l’histoire et la culture du nord-est de l’Angleterre.

J’ai une expérience internationale de l’enseignement. Des plans de cours et listes de lecture sont disponibles sur la page Enseignement: notamment sur l’histoire de la traite des esclaves dans le monde atlantique, de la révolution haïtienne, et autour du livre de Paul Gilroy: The Black Atlantic.

Monument celebrating the final battle between Haitian independents and the French imperial army. This led to the independence of Haiti, a crucial moment in the history of revolutions in the Atlantic world. Icone du site de Vanessa Mongey
« Unité » – Monument des Héros de la Bataille de Vertières, Cap Haitien, Haiti

N’hésitez pas à me contacter via Auteur & Contact. Vous pouvez également me trouver sur Twitter.

Mon site et toutes ses ressources sont également disponibles en anglais et en espagnol.

Creative Commons License
Sauf indication contraire, ce site Web est concédé sous une licence internationale Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0. Veuillez citer ou lier les matériaux que vous utilisez.

Worlds in motion

Welcome to Worlds in Motion, the site of Vanessa Mongey (she/her). This site contains various resources for teachers, researchers, and students. 

I’m a UK-based writer working on the entangled histories of revolutions and the African Diaspora in the Atlantic World. My research notably engages with politics, race, and migration.

My interest in worlds and people in motion led me to write my first book, Rogue Revolutionaries: The Fight for Legitimacy in the Greater Caribbean, which studies a surprisingly diverse group of European, Afro-American and U.S. men who repeatedly tried to launch revolutions and create their own independent states. 

I have created a digital companion to the book with the cast of characters, original sources, maps, and an archival research guide.  

Banner for the book Rogue Revolutionaries by Vanessa Mongey

My research has been featured in several publications, including Atlantic Studies and Law and History Review. Click on Research to learn more about my work around Atlantic world history, the Haitian Diaspora, and Black British history. 

Digital projects include Haitian Odysseys, a dynamic StoryMap illustrating the travels of a Haitian family in the 19th century, and Paths Across Waters, a collection of essays and images highlighting the contributions of West Indian and West African migrants to the North East of England.

I have extensive international teaching experience. A few syllabi and reading lists can be found on the Teaching page, including on the history of the Atlantic Slave Trade, the Haitian Revolution, and the Black Atlantic.

Monument celebrating the final battle between Haitian independents and the French imperial army. This led to the independence of Haiti, a crucial moment in the history of revolutions in the Atlantic world. Icon for the site of Vanessa Mongey
“Unité” from the Monument des Héros de la Bataille de Vertières near Cap Haitien, Haiti

Feel free to learn more about me and get in touch via Bio & Contact. You can also find me on Twitter

My website and all its resources are also available in French and Spanish.

Thanks for stopping by.

Creative Commons License
Except where otherwise noted, this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License. Please cite or link the materials you are using.